Projects

Cries and Whispers (외침과 속삭임)

RSVP: CalArts Center for New Performance

Work-in-Progress Performances
Feb 19 8pm PST / Feb 20 1pm KST
Feb 20 10pm PST / Feb 21 3pm KST

Panel Discussion
Feb 21 8pm PST / Feb 22 1pm KST

FREE | Presented Virtually

In a radical reimagining of the seminal film, director Genevieve Fowler creates a liminal memory space in which lineage, histories, and the personal lens expand, inform, and liberate the powerful women of Bergman’s world. Collaging the film’s text and visual narrative with the performers’ individual experience, the work offers an exploratory space, expanding previous perceptions of the seminal film.

With original composition by renowned haegeum performer and composer Jeonghyeon Joo, this international collaboration brings the viewer into a dreamlike environment through deep listening, collage, and the performers’ individual experiences.

Produced by CalArts Center for New Performance.

Cries and Whispers was made possible through funding by Arts Council Korea.
Cries and Whispers is presented by special arrangement with Dramatists Play Service, Inc., New York.

Creative Team
Genevieve Fowler, Director
Jeonghyeon Joo, Composer

Victoria Zajac, Agnes
Grace Leneghan, Anna
Adzua Ayana Asha Amoa, Maria
Likun Jing, Karin
Adam Peltier, Man

Natalie Ferguson, Scenic Designer
Yuwei Hu, Costume Designer
Christian V. Mejia, Lighting Designer
Elliot Yokum, Sound Designer
Kathleen Fox, Video Designer
Taizan Partapurwala, Assistant Scenic Designer
Christopher Swetcky, Production Manager
Jordie Marie Rippon, Production Stage Manager
Bridget Rooney, Stage Manager
Yameng Deng, Associate Producer
Jeongmin Joo, Translator

Heeyoung Kim, Voice
Alkis Nicolaides, Guitar
Jeonghyeon Joo, Haegeum
Jeongmyun Lee (EUM Sound) and Elliot Yokum, Voice Recording Engineer
gogamdoc, Jongmin Park, Natalie Ferguson, Kathleen Fox and Hyun-min Lee, Videographer
gogamdoc, Jongmin Park, and Hyun-min Lee, Video Editor
Special thanks to David Rosenboom.